Red Dragonfly Press

Red Dragonfly Press is pleased to open our editorial doors to manuscript submissions beyond those poets already published by the Press. However, as you consider submitting a manuscript please familiarize yourself with the authors and books published by Red Dragonfly Press, and honor our interest in serious poetry, and especially poetry that is engaged with rural, environmental, and political issues.


Red Dragonfly Press annually accepts manuscripts for the following two prizes:


The David Martinson – Meadowhawk Prize for an unpublished collection of poems by an author who has not previously been published by the press. The chosen poet will receive a $300 cash award, book publication, and ten copies. No geographical restrictions. (Accepting manuscripts March - August).


The Emergence Chapbook Series Prize for an unpublished collection of poems by a previously unpublished author from Minnesota. The chosen poet will receive a $200 cash award, chapbook publication, and ten copies. (Accepting manuscripts April - August).


Please follow the submission link below for specific guidelines at the Submittable website:


Submit to Red Dragonfly Press

David Martinson – Meadowhawk Prize


2015  •  A Different Wakeful Animal by Susan Cohen


2014  •  What Thread? by Francine Sterle


2013  •  Patches of Light by Chad Hanson




Emergence Chapbook Series


2015  •  Clear Day in January by Mark Maire


2014  •  Bottom-Right Corner by Justin Watkins


2013  •  Empty-handed by Scott Lowery


2004  •  Necessities by Larry Gavin


2001  •  Alembic by Vicki Graham